Whereabouts of Some of Our Alumni

Alumni from the Graduate Program in Acoustics at Penn State are scattered across the U.S. and around the world. The list below shows the current whereabouts of some of our alumni. If you would like to include your information in this list (or if you would like to update your information), please send your current contact information to acoustics@psu.edu.

Name Email Company/Institution Location Degree Year
Anderson,
Brian E.
bea@lanl.gov Los Alamos National Laboratory Los Alamos
NM
Ph.D. 2006
Anderson,
Samuel
samuel313@gmail.com Provo
UT
M.S. 2012
Axtell,
Wesley
wesley.axtell@lmco.com Lockheed Martin-Sikorsky Stratford
CT
M.S. 2006
Ban,
Tobias
info@vibrationsinc.com Vibrations Inc. Anaheim
CA
M.Eng. 2006
Bard,
Benjamin
bbard@apple.com Apple Computer Cupertino
CA
Ph.D. 1997
Beebe,
J.
      Ph.D. 1985
Beyer,
T.
  NASA Langley Research Center Langley
VA
M.S. 1984
Berchok,
Catherine
  Marine Physical Lab/Scripps
Institution of Oceanography
San Diego
CA
Ph.D. 2004
Bischoff,
L.
lbischoff3@comcast.net Bernhard Shipps & Associates Moorestown
NJ
M.S. 1990
Boeker,
E.
boeker@volpe.dot.gov Volpe Center, USDOT Cambridge
MA
M.S. 2001
Bowen,
D. J.
djbowen@att.com AT&T Laboratories Florham Park
NJ
Ph.D. 1986
Bolka,
David .F.
      Ph.D. 1972
Burns,
T.
tburns@starkey.com Starkey Labs Inc. Eden Prairie
MN
Ph.D. 1995
Butts,
Donald J.
donald.butts@
harman.com
Harman International M.Eng. 2008
Carbo,
Randy M.
randy.m.carbo@
gmail.com
Bose Corp. Boston
MA
Ph.D. 2012
Celmer,
R.
celmer@
uhavax.hartford.edu
University of Hartford,
College of Engineering
Hartford
CT
Ph.D. 1982
Chandran,
Sushma J.
mischiefmakersu@
gmail.com
Spirent Technologies Frederick
MD
M.Eng. 2012
Chen,
R.
    Thousand Oaks
CA
Ph.D. 2001
Cohen,
Robert
robert.l.cohen@
boeing.com
Boeing Commercial Airplanes Lake Forest Park
WA
Ph.D. 1979
Conklin,
Wade
Wade_Conklin@
hotmail.com
URS Corporation San Diego
CA
M.Eng. 2005
Cooper,
Beth A.
beth@bethcooper.net NASA Atlanta
GA
M.S. 1983
Cotté,
Benjamin
benjamin.cotte@
ensta-paristech.fr
ENSTA ParisTech,
Mechanical Engineering Department
Paris
France
M.S. 2005
Craig,
R.
  USS SEAWOLF (SSN 21) Groten
CT
M.Eng. 1996
Daley
Mike
MDaley@Akustica.com Akustica Inc. Pittsburgh
PA
Ph.D. 2003
DePaolis,
Rory
depaolra@jmu.edu James Madison University,
Communication Sciences and Dissorders
Harrisonburg
VA
Ph.D. 1991
Docker,
Bryce A.
Bryce.Docker@bksv.com Bruel and Kjaer EMS Fort Worth
TX
M.Eng. 2004
Doust,
Barry
bdoust@matsysinc.com Materials Systems Littleton
MA
M.Eng. 2005
Dugan,
Erin
edugan@usg.com USG Corp. Libertyville
IL
M.S. 2003
Ebbitt,
Gordon
gordon.ebbitt@
tema.toyota.com
Toyota Technical Center Ann Arbor
MI
M.S. 1985
Eichelberger,
Curtis E.
curtis.eichelberger@
jci.com
Johnson Controls York
PA
M.S. 1980
Elko,
Gary
  Lucent Technologies Murray Hill
NJ
Ph.D. 1984
Eschenberg,
Kent
eschenbe@psc.edu Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh
PA
Ph.D. 1988
Evans,
Neal
neal.evans@swri.org Southwest Research Institute San Antonio
TX
M.S. 2011
Ferguson,
Tracie
  Boeing Commercial Airplane Group Seattle
WA
M.S. 1997
Frank,
Leslie
NoiseControlEng@
gmail.com
Coleman, AB
Canada
M.S. 1976
Gabrielson,
Tom
tbg3@psu.edu Penn State Applied Research Lab State College
PA
Ph.D. 1985
Gavin,
J.
jgavin@aphysci.com Applied Physical Sciences Richmond Hill
GA
Ph.D. 2002
Grebner,
Dawn
dgrebner@ucsd.edu Scripps Institution of Oceanography,
University of California, San Diego
San Diego
CA
Ph.D. 2009
Golden,
M.
  Quiet Solution     2001
Goni,
G.
  NOAA Miami
FL
M.S. 1985
Grove,
D.
dmgrove@
ratnerprestia.com
Patent Agent Valley Forge
PA
Hamilton,
M.
hamilton@
mail.utexas.edu
University of Texas,
Mechanical Engineering Dept.
Austin
TX
Ph.D. 1983
Hanford,
Amanda D.
ald227@
psu.edu
Penn State Applied Research Lab State College
PA
Ph.D. 2008
Hansen,
S.
shansen@
systems.textron.com
Textron Systems Wilmington
MA
M.S. 1993
Hatlestad,
John
John.Hatlestad@
bsci.com
Senior researcher
Boston Scientific
Cardiac Rhythm Management
Saint Paul
MN
M.S. 1985
Hatlestad,
Kate
Kay.Hatlestad@
Donaldson.com
Acoustic Engineer
Donaldson Company
Bloomington
MN
M.S. 1987
Heake,
John
john.heake@
exeloncorp.com
Exelon
(Limerick Generating Station)
Chester Springs
PA
M.S. 2001
Hirsch,
S.
Scott.M.Hirsch@
Boeing.com
Boeing Military Aircraft and Missiles Philadelphia
PA
M.S. 1996
Horbach,
Arthur
horbach@navmar.com Navmar Applied Sciences Corporation Warminster
PA
Ph.D. 1987
Horta,
Miguel
  Research in Motion Corporation Sunrise
FL
M.S. 2006
Hughes,
J.
wjh2@psu.edu Penn State Applied Research Lab State College
PA
Ph.D. 1978
Jemmott,
Colin
colin.jemmott@
appliedor.com
Applied Operations Research Solana Beach
CA
Ph.D. 2010
Jones,
A.
ajones@peiServices.com PEI Services Austin
TX
M.S. 1996
Kachur,
Amanda L.
mandlyn2@gmail.com Soundscape Engineering Ann Arbor
MI
M.Eng. 2008
Katz,
B.
Brian.Katz@limsi.fr LIMSI-CNRS Paris
France
Ph.D. 1997
Laurin,
Scott
scott.laurin@gmail.com Newport
RI
M.Eng. 2009
Lilly G.,
Jerry
  JGL Acoustics Issaquah
WA
M.S. 1975
Lin,
Y.
yhl100@ms17.hinet.net The Institute for Information Industry Taipei
Taiwan
Ph.D. 1997
Link,
C.
christopher_link@
bose.com
Bose Corp. Framingham
MA
M.S. 1996
Locey,
Lance
lancelocey@gmail.com Raytheon Missile Systems   Ph.D. 2008
Loubeau,
Alexandra
aloubeau@gmail.com NASA Langley Research Center,
Structural Acoustics Branch
Hampton
VA
Ph.D.
M.S.
2006
2003
Mahon,
M.
mpm114@psu.edu     Ph.D. 2001
Manley,
M.
  Electric Boat Groton
CT
   
Marboe,
Rick
rcm4@psu.edu Penn State Applied Research Lab State College
PA
Ph.D. 2000
Martin,
Stephen D.
stephenmartin08@
verizon.net
US Navy/PMS-403 Washington Navy Yard M.S. 1993
Martinez,
Michael
mike.m.martinez@
ge.com
GE Aviation Cincinnati
OH
M.Eng. 2003
Mast,
D.
  Penn State Applied Research Lab State College
PA
Ph.D. 1993
Matthias,
T.
todd@
acousticdesignstudio.com
Acoustic Design Studio Portland
OR
M.S. 1995
Maynard,
K.
kpm128@psu.edu Penn State Applied Research Laboratory State College
PA
2001 M.S.
McCammon,
D.
  Penn State Applied Research Lab State College
PA
Ph.D. 1984
McEachern,
James
mceachern@navmar.com Navmar Applied Sciences Corp. Warminster
PA
Ph.D. 1993
Miller,
A.
  Eaton-Peabody Laboratory Boston
MA
M.S. 1999
Miller,
D.
  Providence
RI
Ph.D.
Mills,
J.
Austin
TX
M.S. 1997
Mizutani,
T.
  Technics Corp. Japan M.S. 1983
Mongeau,
L.
mongeau@
ecn.purdue.edu
Purdue University,
Mechanical Engineering Dept.
West Lafayette
IN
Ph.D. 1991
Muehleisen,
Ralph
rmuehleisen@anl.gov Argonne National Laboratory Argonne
IL
Ph.D. 1996
Nashif,
Pete
pnashif@visteon.com Visteon Corporation M.S. 1992
Nobile,
M.
mattnobile@verizon.net Hudson Valley Acoustics (consultant) Poughkeepsie
NY
Ph.D. 1982
Ochs,
J.
jbo0@lehigh.edu Lehigh University Bethlehem
PA
Ph.D. 1980
Orr,
A.
andrew_orr@starkey.com Starkey Hearing Technologies Eden Prairie
MN
M.S. 2011
Patankar,
Harshal P.
pharshalp@psualum.com India M.Eng. 2013
Phillips,
James E.
jphillips@wiai.com Wilson, Ihrig & Assoc. Emeryville
CA
M.S. 1989
Piacsek,
Andy
piacsek@cwu.edu Central Washington University
Dept of Physics
Ellensburg
WA
Ph.D. 1995
Pisel,
Christina
cpisel@edmc.edu Art Institute of Philadelphia Phildelphia
PA
M.Eng. 2011
Pla,
Frederic
frederic.pla@gmail.com Life Technologies Encinitas, CA Ph.D. 1987
Poulain,
Kieran
keiran.poulain@
gmail.com
Apple M.S. 2011
Pray,
Carl
cpray@ata-e.com ATA Engineering Herndon
VA
M.S. 1999
Quartararo,
L.
  TIAX LLC Cambridge
MA
M.S. 1983
Quinlan,
Dan
dquinlan02@
gsb.columbia.edu
Bell Labs Murray Hill
NJ
M.S. 1985
Restrepo,
Juan
restrepo@
physics.arizona.edu
University of Arizona Tucson
AZ
M.S. 1987
Richards,
R.
  Naval Undersea Warfare Center Mystic
CT
Ph.D 1980
Rochat,
Judy
jrochat@
atsconsulting.com
ATS Consulting Passadena
CA
Ph.D. 1997
Rosenbaum,
Joyce
jerosenbaum@gmail.com   Gaithersburg
MD
Ph.D. 2011
Ross,
Jason C.
jross@hmmh.com Harris Miller Miller & Hanson Inc. Burlington
MA
M.Eng. 2010
Ruhala,
Rich
  Lucent Technolgies   Ph.D. 1999
Russell,
Dan
drussell@engr.psu.edu Graduate Program in Acoustics,
Penn State
State College
PA
Ph.D. 1995
Schmidt,
B.
cunisch@bellatlantic.net Environmental Corp. Mountainside
NJ
M.S. 1978
Schultz,
Troy
troy.schultz@wyle.com Wyle Aerospace Group Environmental and
Energy Research & Consulting (EERC)
Astoria
NY
M.Eng. 2007
Schwenke,
R.
rogers@meyersound.com Meyer Sound Laboratory Berkeley
CA
Ph.D. 2000
Sklanka,
B.
bernard.j.sklanka@
boeing.com
Boeing Airplane Testing Seattle
WA
M.S. 1997
Sommerfeldt,
S.
s_sommerfeldt@byu.edu Brigham Young University Provo
UT
Ph.D. 1989
Spencer,
Michael
info@JMSAcoustics.com JMS Acoustics Bethlehem
PA
M.S. 2002
Stanley,
R.
randy_stanley@nps.gov National Park Service Fort Collins
CO
M.Eng. 1997
Strong,
W.
  Steinway and Sons Long Island City
NY
M.S. 1982
Swearingen,
M. E.
michelle.e.swearingen@
erdc.usace.army.mil
Construction Engineering
Research Laboratory
Champaign
IL
Ph.D. 2003
Szwerc,
Richard P.
rpszwerc@comcast.net Naval Surface Warfare Center Bethesda
MD
Ph.D. 1998
Talaske,
R.
  The Talaske Group Oak Park
IL
M.S. 1980
Tan,
Cheah Heng
cheahheng.tan@
motorolasolutions.com
Motorola Malaysia M.Eng. 2010
Thompson,
M. E.
met@
enterprise.arl.psu.edu
Penn State Applied Research Laboratory State College
PA
M.S. 2000
Torres,
R.
  Chalmers University of Technology Gotherburg
Sweden
M.S. 1995
Townsend,
Michael
michael.townsend@
harman.com
Harman International Indianapolis
IN
M.Eng. 2004
Tuttle,
Brian
btuttle1@
gmail.com
Hampton
VA
Ph.D. 2012
Upton,
Zachary
zupton@
bbn.com
BBN Technologies Arlington
VA
M.Eng. 2002
Valente,
Dan
Daniel.P.Valente@
usace.army.mil
US Army Corps of Engineers Engineer Research
and Development Center (ERDC-CERL)
Champaign
IL
Ph.D. 2006
Van Tol,
Dave
dvt729@comcast.net Covidien Boulder
CO
M.S. 1996
Wang,
Jack
jjwang@trane.com The Trane Company La Crosse
WI
Ph.D. 1999
Ward,
W.
  Los Alamos National Laboratory Los Alamos
NM
Ph.D.  
Wilson,
K.
  U. S. Army Research Laboratory Adelphia
MD
Ph.D. 1992
Wochner,
Mark S.
mark@adbmtech.com AdBm Technologies Austin
TX
Ph.D. 2006
Yeager,
D.
dave.yeager@
motorolasolutions.com
Motorola Ft. Lauderdale
FL
Ph.D.
M.S.
1987
1980
Zhang,
Q.
    Capitola
CA
Ph.D. 1998
Ziomek,
L.
ziomek@nps.navy.mil Naval Postgraduate School Monterey
CA
Ph.D. 1981
alumni spotlight employmenttheseswhere are they?keep in touch
 
 

About

Founded in 1965, Penn State's Graduate Program in Acoustics has become the leading resource for graduate education in acoustics in the United States. The interdisciplinary program leads to the degrees: Master of Engineering in Acoustics (M.Eng.), Master of Science in Acoustics (M.S.), and Doctor of Philosophy in Acoustics (Ph.D.)

Graduate Program in Acoustics

College of Engineering

The Pennsylvania State University

201 Applied Science Building

University Park, PA 16802