Alumni of the Graduate Program in Acoustics at Penn State

Since 1965, the Graduate Program in Acoustics has been offering several options leading to a graduate degree in acoustics. Penn State is the only school in the U.S. that currently offers the Ph.D. in Acoustics. As of Fall 2015, the Graduate Program in Acoustics has awarded:

  • 186 Master of Engineering (M.Eng.) in Acoustics degrees
  • 280 Master of Science (M.S.) in Acoustics degrees
  • 203 Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Acoustics degrees

The list below provides contact information for many alumni of the Graduate Program in Acoustics. If you wish to add, change or remove your information from this list please contact the Acoustics Program: acoustics@psu.edu. Or you can enter your information using the "Keep in Touch" link from the menu at left.

Graduate Program in Acoustics Theses and Papers

Here is a list (organized by academic year) of all of the theses and papers submitted by past students of Graduate Program in Acoustics:     Graduate Program in Acoustics Students Theses and Papers

Contact information for Graduate Program in Acoustics Alumni

Name Email address Company/Institution Location Year Degree
Anderson, Brian E. bea@lanl.gov Los Alamos National Laboratory Los Alamos, NM 2006 Ph.D.
Anderson, Samuel samuel313@gmail.com Provo, UT 2012 M.S.
Axtell, Wesley wesley.axtell@lmco.com Lockheed Martin -Sikorsky Stratford, CT 2006 M.S.
Ban, Tobias info@vibrationsinc.com Vibrations Inc. Anaheim, CA 2006 M.Eng.
Bard, Benjamin bbard@apple.com Apple Computer Cupertino, CA 1997 Ph.D.
Beebe, J.       1985 Ph.D.
Beyer, T.   NASA Langley Research Center Langley, VA 1984 M.S.
Berchok, Catherine   Marine Physical Lab/Scripps Institution of Oceanography San Diego, CA 2004 Ph.D.
Bischoff, L. lbischoff3@comcast.net Bernhard Shipps & Associates, Inc. Moorestown, NJ 1990 M.S.
Boeker, E. boeker@volpe.dot.gov Volpe Center, U.S.D.O.T. Cambridge, MA 2001 M.S.
Bowen, D. J. djbowen@att.com AT&T Laboratories Florham Park, NJ 1986 Ph.D.
Bolka, David .F.       1972 Ph.D.
Burns, T. tburns@starkey.com Starkey Labs, Inc. Eden Prairie, MN 1995 Ph.D.
Butts, Donald J. donald.butts@harman.com Harman International 2008 M.Eng.
Carbo, Randy M. randy.m.carbo@gmail.com Bose Corp. Boston, MA 2012 Ph.D.
Celmer, R. celmer@uhavax.hartford.edu

University of Hartford, College of Engineering Hartford, CT 1982 Ph.D.
Chandran, Sushma J. mischiefmakersu@gmail.com

Spirent Technologies Frederick, MD 2012 M.Eng.
Chen, R.     Thousand Oaks, CA 2001 Ph.D.
Cohen, Robert robert.l.cohen@boeing.com Boeing Commercial Airplanes Lake Forest Park, WA 1979 Ph.D.
Conklin, Wade Wade_Conklin@hotmail.com URS Corporation San Diego, CA 2005 M.Eng.
Cooper, Beth A. beth@bethcooper.net NASA Atlanta, GA 1983 M.S.
Cotté, Benjamin benjamin.cotte@ensta-paristech.fr ENSTA ParisTech, Department of Mechanical Engineering Paris, France 2005 M.S.
Craig, R.   USS SEAWOLF (SSN 21) Groten, CT 1996 M.Eng.
Daley, Mike MDaley@Akustica.com Akustica Inc. Pittsburgh, PA 2003 Ph.D.
DePaolis, Rory depaolra@jmu.edu James Madison University, Communication Sciences and Dissorders Harrisonburg, VA 1991 Ph.D.
Docker, Bryce A. Bryce.Docker@bksv.com Bruel and Kjaer EMS Fort Worth, TX 2004 M.Eng.
Doust, Barry bdoust@matsysinc.com Materials Systems, Inc. Littleton, MA 2005 M.Eng.
Dugan, Erin edugan@usg.com USG Corp. Libertyville, IL 2003 M.S.
Ebbitt, Gordon gordon.ebbitt@tema.toyota.com Toyota Technical Center Ann Arbor, MI 1985 M.S.
Eichelberger, Curtis E. curtis.eichelberger@jci.com Johnson Controls York, PA 1980 M.S.
Elko, Gary.   Lucent Technologies Murray Hill, NJ 1984 Ph.D.
Eschenberg, Kent eschenbe@psc.edu Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh, PA 1988 Ph.D.
Evans, Neal neal.evans@swri.org Southwest Research Institute San Antonio, TX 2011 M.S.
Ferguson, Tracie.   Boeing Commercial Airplane Group Seattle, WA 1997 M.S.
Frank, Leslie NoiseControlEng@gmail.com Coleman, AB, Canada 1976 M.S.
Gabrielson, Tom. tbg3@psu.edu Penn State, Applied Research Lab State College, PA 1985 Ph.D.
Gavin, J. jgavin@aphysci.com Applied Physical Sciences Richmond Hill, GA 2002 Ph.D.
Grebner, Dawn dgrebner@ucsd.edu Scripps Institution of Oceanography. University of California, San Diego San Diego, CA 2009 Ph.D.
Golden, M.   Quiet Solution   2001  
Goni, G.   National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Miami, FL 1985 M.S.
Grove, D. dmgrove@ratnerprestia.com Patent Agent Valley Forge, PA
Hamilton, M. hamilton@mail.utexas.edu University of Texas, Mechanical Engineering Dept. Austin, TX 1983 Ph.D.
Hanford, Amanda D. ald227@psu.edu Penn State Applied Research Lab State College, PA 2008 Ph.D.
Hansen, S. shansen@systems.textron.com Textron Systems Wilmington, MA 1993 M.S.
Hatlestad, John John.Hatlestad@bsci.com Senior researcher
Boston Scientific
Cardiac Rhythm Management
Saint Paul, MN 1985 M.S.
Hatlestad, Kate Kay.Hatlestad@Donaldson.com Acoustic Engineer
Donaldson Company
Bloomington, MN 1987 M.S.
Heake, John john.heake@exeloncorp.com Exelon (Limerick Generating Station) Chester Springs, PA 2001 M.S.
Hirsch, S. Scott.M.Hirsch@Boeing.com Boeing Military Aircraft and Missiles Philadelphia, PA 1996 M.S.
Horbach, Arthur horbach@navmar.com Navmar Applied Sciences Corporation Warminster, PA 1987 Ph.D.
Horta, Miguel   Research in Motion Corporation Sunrise, FL 2006 M.S.
Hughes, J. wjh2@psu.edu Pennsylvania State University, Applied Research Lab State College, PA 1978 Ph.D.
Jemmott, Colin colin.jemmott@appliedor.com Applied Operations Research Solana Beach, CA 2010 Ph.D.
Jones, A. ajones@peiServices.com PEI Services Austin, TX 1996 M.S.
Kachur, Amanda L. mandlyn2@gmail.com Soundscape Engineering Ann Arbor, MI 2008 M.Eng.
Katz, B. Brian.Katz@limsi.fr LIMSI-CNRS Paris, France 1997 Ph.D.
Katz, B. Brian.Katz@limsi.fr LIMSI-CNRS Paris, France 1997 Ph.D.
Laurin, Scott scott.laurin@gmail.com Newport, RI 2009 M. Eng.
Lilly G., Jerry   JGL Acoustics, Inc. Issaquah, WA 1975 M.S.
Lin, Y. yhl100@ms17.hinet.net The Institute for Information Industry Taipei, Taiwan 1997 Ph.D.
Link, C. christopher_link@bose.com Bose Corp. Framingham, MA 1996 M.S.
Locey, Lance lancelocey@gmail.com Raytheon Missile Systems   2008 Ph.D.
Loubeau, Alexandra aloubeau@gmail.com NASA Langley Research Center, Structural Acoustics Branch Hampton, VA 2006, 2003 Ph.D., M.S.
Mahon, M. mpm114@psu.edu     2001 Ph.D.
Manley, M.   Electric Boat Groton, CT    
Marboe, Rick rcm4@psu.edu Pennsylvania State University, Applied Research Lab State College, PA 2000 Ph.D.
Martin, Stephen D. stephenmartin08@verizon.net US Navy/PMS-403 Washington Navy Yard 1993 M.S.
Martinez, Michael mike.m.martinez@ge.com GE Aviation Cincinnati, OH 2003 M.Eng.
Mast, D.   Pennsylvania State University, Applied Research Lab State College, PA 1993 Ph.D.
Matthias, T. todd@acousticdesignstudio.com Acoustic Design Studio, Inc. Portland, OR 1995 M.S.
Maynard, K. kpm128@psu.edu Pennsylvania State University, Applied Research Laboratory State College, PA 2001 M.S.
McCammon, D.   Pennsylvania State University, Applied Research Lab State College, PA 1984 Ph.D.
McEachern, James mceachern@navmar.com Navmar Applied Sciences Corp. Warminster, PA 1993 Ph.D.
Miller, A.   Eaton-Peabody Laboratory Boston, MA 1999 M.S.
Miller, D.   Providence, RI Ph.D.
Mills, J. Austin, TX 1997 M.S.
Mizutani, T.   Technics Corp. Japan 1983 M.S.
Mongeau, L. mongeau@ecn.purdue.edu Purdue University, Mechanical Engineering Dept. West Lafayette, IN 1991 Ph.D.
Muehleisen, Ralph rmuehleisen@anl.gov Argonne National Laboratory Argonne, IL 1996 Ph.D.
Nashif, Pete pnashif@visteon.com Visteon Corporation 1992 M.S.
Nobile, M. mattnobile@verizon.net Hudson Valley Acoustics (consultant) Poughkeepsie, NY 1982 Ph.D.
Ochs, J. jbo0@lehigh.edu Lehigh University Bethlehem, PA 1980 Ph.D.
Orr, A. andrew_orr@starkey.com Starkey Hearing Technologies Eden Prairie, MN 2011 M.S.
Patankar, Harshal P. pharshalp@psualum.com India 2013 M.Eng.
Phillips, James E. jphillips@wiai.com Wilson, Ihrig & Assoc., Inc. Emeryville, CA 1989 M.S.
Piacsek, Andy piacsek@cwu.edu Central Washington University-Dept of Physics Ellensburg, WA 1995 Ph.D.
Pisel, Christina cpisel@edmc.edu Art Institute of Philadelphia Phildelphia, PA 2011 M.Eng.
Pla, Frederic frederic.pla@gmail.com Life Technologies Encinitas, CA 1987 Ph.D.
Poulain, Kieran keiran.poulain@gmail.com Appple 2011 M.S.
Pray, Carl cpray@ata-e.com ATA Engineering, Inc. Herndon, VA 1999 M.S.
Quartararo, L.   TIAX LLC Cambridge, MA 1983 M.S.
Quinlan, Dan dquinlan02@gsb.columbia.edu Bell Labs

Murray Hill, NJ

M.S. 1985
Restrepo, Juan restrepo@physics.arizona.edu University of Arizona Tucson, AZ 1987 M.S.
Richards, R.   Naval Undersea Warfare Center Mystic, CT 1980 Ph.D
Rochat, Judy jrochat@atsconsulting.com ATS Consulting Passadena, CA 1997 Ph.D.
Rosenbaum, Joyce jerosenbaum@gmail.com   Gaithersburg, MD 2011 Ph.D.
Ross, Jason C. jross@hmmh.com Harris Miller Miller & Hanson Inc. Burlington, MA 2010 M. Eng.
Ruhala, Rich   Lucent Technolgies   1999 Ph.D.
Russell, Dan drussell@engr.psu.edu Graduate Program in Acoustics, Penn State State College, PA 1995 Ph.D.
Schmidt, B. cunisch@bellatlantic.net Environmental Corp. Mountainside, NJ 1978 M.S.
Schultz,Troy troy.schultz@wyle.com Wyle Aerospace Group Environmental and Energy Research & Consulting (EERC) Astoria, NY 2007 M.Eng.
Schwenke, R. rogers@meyersound.com Meyer Sound Laboratory Berkeley, CA 2000 Ph.D.
Sklanka, B. bernard.j.sklanka@boeing.com Boeing Airplane Testing Seattle, WA 1997 M.S.
Sommerfeldt, S. s_sommerfeldt@byu.edu Brigham Young University Provo, UT 1989 Ph.D.
Spencer, Michael info@JMSAcoustics.com JMS Acoustics, LLC Bethlehem, PA 2002 M.S.
Stanley, R. randy_stanley@nps.gov National Park Service Fort Collins, CO 1997 M.Eng.
Strong, W.   Steinway and Sons Long Island City, NY 1982 M.S.
Swearingen, M.E. michelle.e.swearingen@erdc.usace.army.mil Construction Engineering Research Laboratory Champaign, IL 2003 Ph.D.
Szwerc, Richard, P. rpszwerc@comcast.net Naval Surface Warfare Center Bethesda, Maryland 1998 Ph.D.
Talaske, R.   The Talaske Group Oak Park, IL 1980 M.S.
Tan, Cheah Heng cheahheng.tan@motorolasolutions.com Motorola Malaysia 2010 M.Eng.
Thompson, M. E. met@enterprise.arl.psu.edu Pennsylvania State University, Applied Research Laboratory State College, PA 2000 M.S.
Torres, R.   Chalmers University of Technology Gotherburg, Sweden 1995 M.S.
Townsend, Michael michael.townsend@harman.com Harman International Indianapolis, IN 2004 M.Eng.
Tuttle, Brian btuttle1@gmail.com Hampton, VA 2012 Ph.D.
Upton, Zachary zupton@bbn.com BBN Technologies Arlington, VA 2002 M.Eng.
Valente, Dan Daniel.P.Valente@usace.army.mil US Army Corps of Engineers Engineer Research and Development Center (ERDC-CERL) Champaign, IL 2006 Ph.D.
Van Tol, Dave dvt729@comcast.net Covidien Boulder, CO 1996 M.S.
Wang, Jack jjwang@trane.com The Trane Company La Crosse, WI 1999 Ph.D.
Ward, W.   Los Alamos National Laboratory Los Alamos, NM   Ph.D.
Wilson, K.   U. S. Army Research Laboratory Adelphia, MD 1992 Ph.D.
Wochner, Mark S. mark@adbmtech.com AdBm Technologies Austin, TX 2006 Ph.D.
Yeager, D. dave.yeager@motorolasolutions.com Motorola Ft. Lauderdale, FL 1987
1980
Ph.D.
M.S.
Zhang, Q.     Capitola, CA 1998 Ph.D.
Ziomek, L. ziomek@nps.navy.mil Naval Postgraduate School Monterey, CA 1981 Ph.D.